Pavlovsk ParkPavlovsk, 30 kilometres south of St Petersburg, is noted for being "a work in a single style": all elements of the estate, including the palace and parks, were created in a relatively short period - between the late 1770 and the early 1800s, with no later reconstructions.
Pavlovsk is situated five kilometres to the south of Tsarskoye Selo, in a picturesque spot that was once the game-rich Tsarskoye Selo hunting grounds, resounding during hunts to the beat of horses' hooves, the calls of huntsmen, gunshots and barking of dogs.
In 1777 Catherine II gave these lands (about 525 hectares) to her son Paul on the occasion of the birth of his son and heir, Alexander. Catherine, who financed all the work to fix up the new estate, appointed as its chief architect the Scot Charles Cameron, an outstanding Classical architect and follower of Palladio, who created an elegant villa-palace in the spirit of the Age of Enlightenment -an ideal place for relaxation and intellectual pursuits, set in beautiful parkland.
After 1786 work at Pavlovsk was directed by Vincenzo Brenna, an architect that Paul brought back from his trip to Europe. He reworked much of the palace state rooms and, after Paul became emperor in 1796, extended its side galleries and wings upwards, creating several remarkable interiors there. At the same time, in collaboration with the theatrical decorator Gonzago, Brenna enlarged the improved parts of the Pavlovsk parks, investing them with the mysterious, romantic air then in fashion.

The Pavlovsk Park

In the depths of the Pavlovsk Park built a small pavilion "Monument to parents, Milk (pavilion in the village of English country house) Enclosures, etc. In 1790-ies in Pavlovsk began operations Brenna, who, with the participation of decorator P. Gonzaga, expanded the landscaped portion of Parks by the Old and New Sylvia Park White Birch and Ceremonial field. Parks decorated bridges, pavilions, and sculpture, erected on the draft V. Brenna, A. Voronikhin, G. Kvarnegy, J. Thomas de Tomon, Rossi - the best representatives of all areas of Russian classicism 1790-1820.

The Pavlovsk Palace

The palace includes a low-roofed dome of the central body, which adjacent semicircular gallery. The internal layout of the building was Cameron built on the principles developed by the classicists of the XVIII century. On the same principle architect developed a design of rooms - comfortable, graceful and intelligent. " However, to complete the work did not have time. Because of the conflict between him and Maria Feodorovna Paul refused services Charles Cameron, who was replaced by Brenna - partisan style of Louis XVI. Brenna was extremely dissatisfied with the interior of Cameron and letters complaining difficulties being experienced by their reissuing. It was, above all, the absence of a sufficiently large space, where one would draw staterooms. But he managed to solve the problem, and quite original way: he posted a front suite in the main building around the Italian Hall rotunda, and its spatial extension made room in nadstroennyh second floor wings. Later, the interiors of the Pavlovsk Palace made out G. Kvarnegy, A. Voronikhin, J. Thomas de Tomon, Rossi, sculptor M. Kozlowski. The result of the work was the creation of a unique interior ensemble classic style.
Pavlovsk photos
Pavlovsk railway station. Valley of the Slavyanka. View from a height of Pavlovsk. Cast-iron gates. Southern entrance to town. Pavlovsky Park in winter. Squirrel in Winter Park.